PTX 201 Course Outline:


Course Instructor: Alan Buckpitt
Monday-Friday 9-10AM
2016 Haring Hall

TAs Heather Knych andů

Date

Lecture

Faculty

Block I - Overview

Thursday 9/28

Introduction/Course Outline.  Pharmacology and Toxicology-definitions, subdisciplines and opportunities; literature sources

Buckpitt

Friday 9/29

Physicochemical properties of drugs and toxicants; Dose Response

Miller

Monday, 10/2

Risk assessment-Extrapolation of data derived in animals to humans

Last

Tuesday, 10/3

Fate of chemicals in the environment I

Tjeerdema

Wednesday, 10/4

Fate of chemicals in the environment II

Tjeerdema

Thursday, 10/5

Receptors as targets for drugs and toxicants

Pessah

Friday 10/6

The concept of selectivity.  Basic understanding of how drugs and toxicants produce selective therapeutic/toxic responses

Pessah

Monday 10/9

Drug development

O’Neill

Tuesday 10/10

Discussion for exam

Miller/Last/Pessah/Tjeerdema

Wednesday 10/11

Exam I

TBA

Block II

 Thursday 10/12

Fate Processes-I: Absorption

Buckpitt

Friday 10/13

Fate Processes-II: Distribution

Buckpitt

Monday 10/16

Fate Processes-III: Metabolism

Buckpitt

Tuesday 10/17

Fate Processes-IV: Metabolism

Buckpitt

Wednesday 10/18

Fate Processes-V: Elimination

Buckpitt

Thursday 10/19

Factors affecting disposition and fate of drugs and toxicants

Buckpitt

Friday 10/20

Fate Processes in nonmammalian species

Tjeerdema

Monday 10/23

Pharmacokinetics I

Miller

Tuesday 10/24

Pharmacokinetics II

Miller

Wednesday 10/25

Pharmacokinetics III

Miller

Thursday 10/26

Pharmacokinetics IV Problems and computer analysis

Craigmill

Friday 10/27

Pharmacokinetics V Problems and computer analysis

Craigmill

Monday 10/30

Physiologically based pharmacokinetic modeling

Craigmill

Tuesday 10/31

Pharmacokinetics of reactive metabolite formation and decay

Miller  

Wednesday 11/1

Discussion

Craigmill, Miller, Tjeerdema, Buckpitt

Thursday 11/2

EXAM Block II

 

Block III-Target organ toxicity

Friday 11/3

Mechanisms of cell injury I.  Reactive oxygen species, redox cycling

Last

Monday 11/6

Cellular basis of toxicity.  Intracellular targets, comparisons of the structure and function of cells undergoing apoptosis vs necrosis

Van Winkle

Tuesday 11/7

Structure and function of the hepatic system

Wilson

Wednesday 11/8

Hepatotoxicants

Wilson

Thursday 11/9

Mechanisms of cell injury II: Interactions of reactive metabolites with critical macromolecules

Miller

Friday 11/10

Veterans day

 

Monday 11/13

Structure and function of the renal system

Wilson

Tuesday 11/14

Structure and function of the respiratory system

Van Winkle

Wednesday 11/15

Pulmonary Toxicants I.  Chemicals

Buckpitt

Thursday 11/16

Renal toxicants

Buckpitt

Friday 11/17

Diuretics

Buckpitt

Monday 11/20

Pulmonary toxicants I Particles

Pinkerton

Tuesday 11/21

Discussion

Pinkerton,
Van Winkle, Wilson, Miller, Buckpitt, Last

Wednesday 11/22

Exam Block III

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Monday 11/27

Bacteria: Targets for selective toxicants I and general resistance mechanisms

Vulliet

Tuesday 11/28

Bacteria as targets for selective toxicants II

Vulliet

Wednesday
11/29

Bacteria as targets for selective toxicants III

Vulliet

Thurs 11/30

Molecular and Cellular Aspects of Cancer

Cortopassi

Friday 12/1

Strategies in the treatment of Cancer

Lau

Monday 12/4

 

Cancer chemotherapy I

 

Lau

Tuesday 12/5

Cancer Chemotherapy II

Lau

Wednesday 12/6

Attempts to selectively target viruses

North

Thursday 12/7

Discussion Block IV

Vulliet/Lau/North
/Cortopassi


Faculty list: PTX 201

Alan Buckpitt

2-7674

arbuckpitt@ucdavis.edu

Gino Cortopassi

4-9341

gacortopassi@ucdavis.edu

Art Craigmill

2-2936

alcraigmill@ucdavis.edu

Jerold Last

2-6230

jalast@ucdavis.edu

Derrick Lau

916-734-3863

derrick.lau@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Marion Miller

4-8982

mgmillersears@ucdavis.edu

Thomas North

2-3414

twnorth@ucdavis.edu

Charles O’Niell

Sr Director, BioMarin, Novato

Isaac Pessah

2-6696

inpessah@ucdavis.edu

Kent Pinkerton

2-8334

kepinkerton@ucdavis.edu

Ron Tjeerdema

4-5192

rstjeerdema@ucdavis.edu

Laura Van Winkle

4-7547

lsvanwinkle@ucdavis.edu

P.  Richard Vulliet

2-7409

prvulliet@ucdavis.edu

Dennis Wilson

2-0158

dwwilson@ucdavis.edu